Keep Listening

I encourage you and everyone else to interact with friends, family, and even strangers that you meet. Show others that you are an inviting and good person. People like to talk about themselves, it makes them feel important. Listen to what they have to say because they may have valuable lessons to share. Listen because they may be going through hard times, and you may be who they are seeking help from. Listen and learn. In my limited experience with life, I always found it incredibly valuable to just sit back, mouth shut, and soak in the knowledge of people around me. Even if it’s not educational, it might still be entertaining. I have to say some fun facts are pretty fun.

One thing that I think would resonate with all of us is opinion. We all have it, there’s no escape from that. My views however have always been to listen for what others have to say, even if I think it is outlandish and unacceptable. If a vast amount of people believe similar ideals, then there certainly is a plausible reason for the rise of this belief in the first place. I want to understand why some people think this way, because doing so could potentially introduce new ideas in life. One major thing to take away though is that even if an opinion directly clashes with yours, know that most people aren’t here to harm you. No matter how much you want to stand up and prove the opposition wrong, listen for a bit first, and see where you want to take it from there.

Listening to others is a sign of respect and care. It may not seem like much, but others will remember. They will remember you as someone who can be trusted, and that is crucial in person to person interactions. I want you to listen so that you can improve in experience and perspective. We talk about eye opening events changing the way you think, but it can also be something much simpler.


Leave a comment