Why are you mad?

There’s a reason we all get angry, and it happens from time to time, but it feels like some people are out to find anger even in the tiniest sources possible. I get it, if someone has wronged you, then they deserve justice. Still, when you’re angry, stress is only burdened onto yourself, and we all know that isn’t healthy. The issue typically is harder to resolve as well when you aren’t thinking straight. Managing anger is a skill that is easier for some compared to others, but I believe it is a crucial thing to have. Socially, people become scared when they see rage. They will remember that time when you unleashed fury upon others, and will never see you in the same light. Needless to say, keeping things calm and collected will garner you respect. One honest but harsh way of thinking that I follow is this: there is always something worse happening in the world. Whatever that is, I know that the condition I am in now can always be outpaced by something or someone else. This keeps me level-headed, and makes me appreciate what I do have. Rather than displaying anger, I can instead show empathy.

If someone crashes into your car, your natural response would be frustration, but what will that accomplish? The other party will already feel guilt, regret, and will have to do essentially whatever it takes to make things right. It’s their fault and if they are sensible, they know it. You unfortunately are at the receiving end of someone else’s mistake, which is why I get it’s difficult to not be angry, but at the end of the day, lingering onto it only damages yourself.

I’m not saying you should just suppress your emotions entirely, because that is harmful in many ways as well. I do think we should all learn to identify when we should express anger, joy, fear, and all the other features we possess. Don’t waste your energy on something small and insignificant to your life. Move on.

Tempering your temper will do you well in the future. If you can control your anger, you might be able to deal with other issues as well, such as anxiety. A winner’s mentality is one that cannot be stopped by nerves or frustration, so do what you can and don’t look back. Good Luck!

Leave a comment